Wednesday was going well…

Exhausted but content I mused, ‘Today has been a good day’ as I stepped out of school. In the 10 steps that takes me from the door to my car I had ended up flat on my face, a huge scag in my tights and a smashed brand new IPhone 5.

1187236_714657548548312_1646706329_n

‘Has the God of Teaching cursed me for leaving 10 minutes before kick out time,’ I couldn’t help but ponder. Anyway, I dusted myself off and put it to the back of my mind as I set off home.  I walked through the door and related the tale to my partner and started to tear up, ‘I really am wiped out,’ I thought.

Starting dinner seemed the best thing to do to keep my mind off it so I opened the cupboard to a cascading waterfall of spaghetti tumbling into my open arms. I stood there in shock, you know that moment when you just don’t know whether to laugh or cry? Well I began to do both for what I believe to be the first time in my life, I can now honestly say I truly understand that feeling of utter despair and instantaneous hilarity at ones own misfortune. My partner scooped the spaghetti out of my arms saving them from destruction and into the pan; the result of which is sure to give you a giggle when picturing the moments before.

20130911-192555

I had said to a colleague earlier today that if I kept going at this pace something was going to give, I just hadn’t realised it was going to be my own body and sanity. Time to take the foot off the pedal a little perhaps?

2 thoughts on “Wednesday was going well…

Leave a Reply

