Under the sea.

Our topic this term is under the sea and after a pretty boring role play area, and failed attempts at fantasy stories last term, I decided that another wow role play area was needed to replicate the fab fairy tale stories we got after Christmas…

 

DSC00557 DSC00556 DSC00555 DSC00554

DSC00553

 

So far along the writing process we have looked at a few different sea creatures and read a few under the sea stories. We’ve used alliteration to describe the sea creatures and next    I’m going to lead a few drama sessions in the role play area acting out problems and solutions 🙂 I’m just waiting for the child’s wetsuit I bought off ebay to arrive!

Back to the roleplay area: I was adamant I wanted some fabric to create a definite “under” the sea feel and found this beautiful bargain at the market for just a pound a metre. The fish are fish the children created using a collage technique during our Bread and Fishes miracle lesson! My TAs created the tissue paper backdrop and the water themed paper was from the YPO catalogue that I got at the start of the year for our pirates topic.

The best part is the kids using my old yellow with pink fishes sarong and wearing it as a mermaid/merman tail!

I’ve also put a kids camera and recording microphone in and hopefully we’ll get some good photos and oral story telling out of it prior to getting down to writing.

Leave a Reply

